Bringing Spanish Speakers on Board with Safety Training 6/13

$40.00

June 13, 2012, 11:00 am, MST (10am PST, 12pm CST, 1pm EST) Spanish speakers tend to be extremely reluctant to comply with safety regulations and safety training, even when training is presented in Spanish and when employers invest heavily in providing quality equipment and instruction. Spanish speakers’ inability to recognize that both they and their employers are subject to federal law exposes many companies to unnecessary risk. Losses occur due to accidents and injuries, and, of course, OSHA inspections that result in fines and penalties. This presentation will cover common misconceptions that Spanish speakers hold about safety and their employers’ expectations regarding safety and job performance. This information is CRITICAL for employers of Spanish speakers in any industry where there is significant risk of accidents or injuries.

This audio conference will address:
*Common misconceptions Spanish speakers have about safety regulations and how they operate and are enforced in this country
*Cultural beliefs and tendencies that make Spanish speakers much more risk tolerant than their American counterparts
*Specific strategies for conducting effective safety training in Spanish

Speaker biography:
With an MA in Education from Columbia Teachers College, Melissa Burkhart was a teacher for ten years, working closely with Spanish-speaking students and their families. She is currently the president of Futuro Sólido USA, a Spanish-language agency emphasizing bridging cultural as well as language barriers. Designed as a resource for companies that either hire or sell to Spanish speakers, Futuro Sólido has served the construction, landscaping, hospitality, transportation, and manufacturing industries for over seven years. Melissa has presented extensively on strategies to address Spanish speakers’ resistance to safety training. She has done numerous presentations and radio and television appearances, and her articles on issues relating to the Spanish-speaking workforce have appeared in several publications.

Who Should Attend?
HR Managers
Supervisors
Safety Trainers
Foremen
Risk Management Personnel


Add to Cart:


Your IP Address is: 54.81.79.128
Copyright © 2017 Futuro Sólido Store. Powered by Zen Cart